Learning Uruguay

Every day brings ????

The sound of horse hooves

Posted by urufish on January 17, 2008

horsedrawn-cart.jpg

Having a little trouble getting time to write in the blog lately….  Am trying a new approach… short, pointed posts…

At 8am this morning I awoke to the sound of the Toronto phone ringing.  Being that I work on Toronto time, I dont get up until 8:30 (5:30am Toronto).  It was a nurse calling from the hospital where my mother has been for the past month.  She said they’re moving her back to ICU.  I told them I’d call back later and speak with her doctor.

It was 25 degrees at 8am.  I opened the windows to get some cool air in and took a quick shower.  While dressing I heard the distinctive sound of hooves on pavement.  One of the many recycle guys, (the guys who jump into the dumpsters and remove things of value), was visiting the one on our corner.   

If someone had told me I’d hear the sounds of horses’ hooves while sitting in my bedroom, I would never have believed them.  Welcome to the life of living in a house in Pocitos. 

4 Responses to “The sound of horse hooves”

  1. gaberoo said

    I hope your mother is doing better Fish. Best wishes.

  2. Anonymous said

    Thanks for the kind thoughts Gab. She passed away on Thursday. Following my dad by 6 months.

    I’m saddened by her passing and will miss not seeing her this summer. But she had a long and full life. She was healthy right up to the end. What more could we all ask for.

  3. Anonymous said

    Thanks for the kind thoughts Gab. She passed away on Thursday. Following my dad by 6 months.

    I’m saddened by her passing and will miss not seeing her this summer. But she had a long and full life. She was healthy right up to the end. What more could we all ask for.

  4. gaberoo said

    Very sorry to hear that Fish. Please accept my deepest condolences and prayers.

Leave a Reply

 
