Learning Uruguay

Every day brings ????

Back to Work

Posted by urufish on August 19, 2007

timeclock.jpg

Well, retirement was a nice break, but now it’s back to work again.  

When we were in Toronto I spent a day with my old crew.   Turns out they missed me.  I really missed them too.  This retirement thing is highly over-rated…  Although it’s fun to be able to do whatever you want to do whenever you want to do it, (more theoretical than practical I might add), after a while, it can get pretty boring.  So starting tomorrow, I have a day job.    

It will be a nice change of perspective.   To experience what it’s like to work full time while living in Uruguay.  I always did like change.  Chaos even more… but in Uruugay, that’s an uncommon condition.  

Hopefully, this change of perspective will give me more material for the blog.  I should have 30-60 minutes a day to spare for it.  Now I just have to figure out how to get golf in on Mondays and Wednesdays.   Then there’s the issue with moving 3 hours ahead in the spring.   Always a new challenge. 

3 Responses to “Back to Work”

  1. Irv
    That is really a shame that you are going to work. I hope you don’t forget about your family because you rejoined the rat race. In our old age we need to be smelling the roses and not constantly working. I know because I have now retired twice and don’t miss the pressure of having to do projects on time.

  2. Urufish said

    I am trying for a more balanced approach this time. We’ll see if it can be done 🙂

  3. dsc said

    Nearing 40 and having worked for several years, I can’t help but look forward to retirement. I wonder if I’d be like (whoever that was that posted elsewhere recently) that I’d fall into retirement easily as I’m natuarally lazy, haha..

    But I hear what you’re saying about being restless. I work a rotating shift and get a one-week period off every 7 weeks. If I’m at home, I start to get restless towards the end.

    At least you’ll have several new perspectives to share by working in Uruguay.

Leave a Reply

 
