Learning Uruguay

Every day brings ????

A nice restaurant in Pocitos

Posted by urufish on May 16, 2007

dscf0435.jpg   My wife’s birthday was yesterday and although it wasn’t planned, we went to a very nice restaurant in Pocitos.  It’s name is Zarzamora.  You can find it (and a pretty much all the other restaurants in Montevideo), here, http://www.topuruguay.com/es/restaurantes/main.htm

We’ve been there a few times in the past, usually for special occasions like birthdays.  It’s a beautiful, medium sized Pocitos style restaurant.  Excellent food, good service, pretty decorations and street parking.  For the first time, I noticed the menu was in Spanish and English.  One of our friends confessed he’d been there the night before and was looking forward to ordering something he’d seen pass by his table last night.  He didn’t have to wait long 🙂

This restaurant has a great parilla.  Every kind of meat imagineable,  tastes great and is cooked to perfection.   Most of us ordered meat dishes but I decided to go against the flow and order a grilled tuna steak, glace.  Just like veryone else’s dinners, it was scrumptidelicious.

One of our friends took pictures of all the plates. 

 dscf0423.jpg  dscf0419.jpg  dscf0428.jpg

We started around 8:30 and finished around 11:30.  They had a buffet style desert bar.   Some of us had 2 deserts, one of us had a few more :).  The deserts were out of this world too.  The peach cake was divino. 

For 10 people, with drinks, wine, large main courses that included filet mignon, lamb, etc, and about 20 deserts, the total was $3500, (U$S150).  Interestingly enough, the bill showed you the total in UY pesos, ARG pesos, Reales and USD. 

8 Responses to “A nice restaurant in Pocitos”

  1. gaberoo said

    Sounds enticing. I’ll have to try it next time I’m in Uruguay. A bargain to boot (15 USD per head!) though with my appetite, the bill might come to about 50-60 USD (still a good deal).
    What’s the “best parrilla” in town? I’ve really only been to the places in the Mercado del Puerto and those have been fairly good.
    Casa de Violeta (or something with “Violeta”) in Pocitos was supposed to be good yet their parrilla was a bit disappointing (I’ve had better here in Miami).

  2. urufish said

    A lot of people I speak with swear that La Otra has the best meat. I’m a meat and potatoes guy and I do agree, it’s the best quality I’ve had here, consistantly. But it also served bland, with nothing at all. Choice of baked potato with roquefort or butter or fries.
    My wife loves it. I’m at the point where I dont want to go there for 6 months. 🙂

  3. Santiago said

    Hi – I’m uruguayan, living all my life in pocitos. I’m partial to the Trouville parrillada, but you can get a lot of reviews of the uruguayan parrillas here (spanish only, sorry): http://www.saliracomer.com (saliracomer=goeating).

    And yes, the Casa Violeta has overpriced mediocre food.

  4. urufish said

    Thanks for the link Santiago.
    Spanish is fine.. I understand a lot but am reluctant to subject others to the pain of hearing me speak or write it. Will definitely read it.

    Where’s the Trouville Parillada? I’m trying to get my wife away from La Otra 🙂

  5. Santiago said

    Parrilla Trouville is in Chucarro 1031, between Av. Brasil and Martí.

    It’s in front of the old Cinamateca (cine club), and on the same block of the School of Arts (Escuela de Bellas Artes), so it used to attract an interesting crowd.

    They’ve moved up a bit, but in the beginning they were the Trouville Basketball club cantine.

    I’m trying La Nueva – good reviews, and closer to home , next saturday night.

  6. Rainey Threadgill said

    Hi,

    I am looking for someone to speak to about traveling and possibly moving to Uruaguy.

    My email is rainey@travelcurrency.com

    I can reply to your questions or answers quickly during day hours.

    Thank you.

  7. Anonymous said

    I am looking to travel to go Dove Hunting in Argentina in March on a trip I won through a school auction. From here I would love to go to Uruaguy on a ferry. I hear the Churches are fantastic and similiar to Europe. What else does Uruaguy offer a visitor on things, my son will love the hunting more than visiting the churches.

    Thank
    Rainey

  8. Looking to vacation in Uraguya and Argentinca does anyone have thoughts on what to do in.

    Thanks,
    Rainey Threadgill

Leave a Reply

 
